The lungs of the city – Brissie’s big botanical garden (part 4 of 4)

In the past couple of years, I have been transforming my own garden with clumping bamboo. When my Mt Cootha Botanical Garden map signalled they had a bamboo collection I was eager to see.  I had no idea that so many bamboos existed from so many different countries. Some were fine and bent when tall, others grew canes thicker than my thighs.

One which fascinated was Weavers Bamboo.

There were the bamboos used for construction purposes. One year when I was in Hong Kong, despite remembering seeing movies with all manner of engineering projects being built using bamboo cane for scaffolding, I was surprised to see a high rise apartment block totally enclosed by bamboo scaffolds. As a support structure, bamboo can be as strong as steel.

Furniture bamboo

The large diameter canes of dozens of varieties in this bamboo forest were attractive to vandals. Younger kids, on the other hand liked novelty.

2 thoughts on “The lungs of the city – Brissie’s big botanical garden (part 4 of 4)

Leave a comment